March Reading Roundup

So I thought I would try a new feature here. At the beginning of each new month I’m going to have little round up/ review of all the books I had read in the previous month. Mostly because whilst I like writing book reviews, I really love reading them and finding out what every one else has been reading recently. I thought that in the comments at the end everyone could share their favourite books from the previous month and it would all be a good place to find out some new excellent books that we might not have otherwise thought off.

You can see from my reading list at the top that I have been off work in March because I have read far more than I am usually able too. Working two jobs does have the unfortunate sided effect of seriously limiting my reading time so I try to be selective about what I’m reading and make sure it’s something I will really enjoy.

Cold Mountain

So I’ll start with Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier because for some reason I listed it first. (Perhaps I need a better listing system!) I love this book. This is a re-read for the umpteenth time. I actually saw the film of this first when I was a teenager and loved it so much I immediately went and brought the book. Hence my edition being adorned with the face of Jude Law! It’s the style of writing in this book and the accuracy of the prose which draws me back to it time and time again. This is a beautifully crafted book and you can feel the effort that went in to writing it. I like that and would recommend it whole heartedly.

Paper Towns

Then we have Paper Towns by John Green. I actually wrote a full review of this book here. But safe to say I really enjoyed this book.

...only part of my collection...

Now we enter the humungous list of David Eddings books which I read. I don’t normally have so many re- reads in a month because I am quite convinced that one of the cruel ironies of the world is that there are too many good books and too little time to enjoy them all. But I was sick and as I wrote here some times you need an old friend to nurse you through. David Eddings is that old friend for me, and he served me well in March.

Just a Geek

Just a Geek by Wil Wheaton. This was the first audio book I had listed to in ages and it was easily the best book I ‘read’ this month. Will Wheaton was the actor who played Wesley Crusher on Star Trek the Next Generation, although I think I have seen all the episodes of TNG I’m not a fanatical fan so I pleasantly surprised that this book had appeal outside of the ‘trekkie’ fandom. I was a well written, honest book about the realities of well life really. I’m a bit of a sucker for well written autobiographies and biographies because I find other people so endlessly interesting and this did not disappoint. The audio book version came with lots of additions such as ‘audio footnotes’, which is when Wil Wheaton deviated from the written text and added in little extras as he read. There was also extra bits at the end of the book where he explained the process for recording an audio book and a bit about the publishing process he used. He totally self publishes everything through the Internet and these really added to the overall experience of the book and defiantly made me glad that I got the audio rather than the paper version. I think this was my read of the month and I would whole heatedly recommend this.

so taking photos of my ipad didn't work so well!

Next up is Sunken Treasure by Wil Wheaton. Again after enjoying Just a Geek so much I indulged in some of his other work. Sunken Treasure is a compilation book which I think he put together to sell at the convention circuit one year and although its relatively short, it defiantly packs it all in. Unlike Just a Geek which is more narrative, this is a compilation of set diaries, extended posts from his excellent blog and other pieces of shorter writing compiled together. I think it cost be somewhere in the region of about £2, but I would have easily paid double that it was so good!

Break No Bones

Finally we have Break no Bones by Kathy Reichs. Whenever I’m feeling the need for a good dose of crime fiction I tend to turn to Reichs. These are easy books to read, I think I finished this one in a day, but I generally can’t guess whodunnit and manage to get wrapped up in the world she creates. I also really like Temperance Brennan as a main protagonist, she seems like a believable female character to me, and I like that these books aren’t bogged down by romance. Maybe it’s just my reading but I tend to find that female characters often become defined by the men in their lives, and although this book features quite prominently Temperance’s ex- husband and new boyfriend, it never felt like she as a character was being drawn in relation to them. They were described in relation to her. I like that.

So there we have it, my reading this month. What have you enjoyed this month? Any good recommendations for me?

Lindy xxx

Leave a comment

Filed under Arrrg my knee, Books, David Eddings, Reading Roundup

Leave a Reply

