The Vegan Challenge: Review

So last week I spent my time eating vegan. You can see how I got on for the various different days here, here, here, here, here and here.

I set myself this task as one of my 3 in 30 goals for the month as a way to challenge myself and make myself focus on eating a better diet and be more intensional when it came to what  I was consuming. Overall I think the  biggest thing for me was that I was surprised at how easy it ended up being. I thought I would be craving cheese and meat like nothing else but I honestly didn’t miss it. I know a week is a fairly short amount of time in which to experiment with something so perhaps if I went on a bit longer this would be a different tale .

So…

The Good Bits

1. I ate so many vegetables it was unreal- I had no problems reaching my 5 a day eating this way!

2. I did feel better. I had more energy and I seemed to be able to handle working crazy hours and generally running around like a lunatic more easily when I had good fuel inside of me.

3. I cooked a lot more. Not being able to rely on convenience food made me become better at planning what I was going to eat and better at cooking it when I got there.

4. The food was actually delicious; indeed I think I made some of the best pancakes I have ever had!

5. The variety of stuff I found myself making certainly surprised me. In the back of my mind I kind of expected to be eating carrots all week but this was not the case at all.

6. I lost a couple of pounds probably because I was eating by its very nature healthier food and not having the plethora of snacks I usually indulge in!

The Bad Bits 

1. Oh God I missed chocolate! Maybe this is just the woman in me talking but I really missed chocolate! Unfortunately I didn’t manage to find a comparable alternative in a shop near where I live although I am sure they do exist.

2. My main and perhaps biggest problem with the idea of eating vegan permanently is that I see food as a very social experience. It is something to share with my loved ones and restricting my diet hampers this for me. I don’t know anyone else who eats vegan and among the majority of my close family and friends no one eats vegetarian either. I felt as though I was missing out on some of the more social aspects of food, simple things like sharing a few biscuits with my colleagues at work became something which I had to decline. Social rituals like that are very important in a work environment and I missed it!

3. This isn’t the diet which James naturally gravitates towards, and its important for me to take his opinion in to account when thinking about issues like this.

4. Quorn isn’t vegan as this has become a staple of mine and James’ diet as we try to reduce our meat consumption for environmental reasons.

That said I do think there are changes which I could make stemming from this week to focus my diet towards a more plant based approach. I think I will be defiantly sticking with the soya milk, I’ve developed quite a taste for it over the last week! On the meals which I do have control over, breakfasts and lunches etc… there is no excuse for me to skimp on the health content of these. I’m going to make a conscience effort to become more focused on what I eat for these meals including more veggies and making them vegan where I can.

Thank you for coming with me on this challenge my friends and double thank yous for being so helpful kind and encouraging in the comments this last week.  I couldn’t have done it without you!

Lindy xxx

4 Comments

Filed under 3 in 30, adventures, cooking, James, Life, Stuff, Vegan diet

4 responses to “The Vegan Challenge: Review

  1. Hi Lindy!

    I’m so proud of you for going vegan for a week. Glad to hear you had positive experiences! Did you give up chocolate for this week simply because it’s got so much sugar, or did you give it up because you thought it wasn’t vegan? Believe it or not, there are TONS of chocolates out there that are vegan. You just have to stay away from the “milk chocolates”. Even some dark chocolates contain milk derivatives but you’ll have more luck when going with dark chocolate as they typically are animal-free. Oh, and they are delicious and good for you!

    Oh and I agree on the Quorn too. It is awesome stuff and I, too, was bummed to find out it has animal products in it. Needless to say there are other AMAZING products out there such as Gardein and Match Meats. They are so much like meat it is crazy.

    Again, congrats!

  2. yeah…I was in the organic section recently and saw some milk chocolate bars that were actually made with soy milk rather than cow’s milk….so there’s a vegan alternative right there..and even splurged a little and tried one….I can’t afford to make it a habit right now though since I have no job

  3. and quorn could be vegan if they can find a vegan binder to use instead of the egg white that is currently commonly used as a binder for it

  4. Westin

    Lindy,

    I really enjoyed reading your week of vegan experiences. Both I and the animals thank you for the effort 🙂

    I noticed you covered two of the three common reasons people go vegan:
    -Health, which you mentioned several times.
    -The environment, which you brought up with the quorn.
    -But what you failed to mention is the third, and usually the biggest reason people give up animal products, animal welfare. I was just surprised you didn’t share your feelings on the subject.

    I hope you continue your journey toward healthier living

    Have a wonderful day!

    -Westin

Leave a Reply

