Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

I sat down to read The Fault in Our Stars with an awful lot of expectation. I have read and loved a lot of John Green’s back catalogue, I follow his youtube channel and watched him sign the entire first printing of this book and I have seen my internet explode with praise for this book.

In my mind this book had a lot to live up to.

It did not disappoint.

I read this book in one day. I just couldn’t help myself. I connected immediately with the main characters, they were funny, smart and  Green’s way of writing their interactions was just delicious. The book, despite its subject matter, teenage cancer, was surprisingly hopeful. I didn’t come away from this book feeling depressed, yes parts of it were heartbreaking, and yes there were tears (mine), but at the end I came away feeling as if the story was complete.

The only thing for me that could improve John Green’s writing would be if he could do it faster! It generally seems to take him about 3 or so years to produce a new novel. And I know they are without fault excellent, thought provoking, funny and clever. I know each word is crafted, each sentence flows and each chapter is carefully plotted. But still. I’m greedy. His writing is so good I am addicted and I can only want more.

Lindy xxx

2 Comments

Filed under Books, John Green, review, the fault in our stars, things I'm thinking of

2 responses to “Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I can’t wait to read this! 🙂

  2. I hope my books get this kind of review when they’re published!! I am definitely going to read this. Thanks for the pointer!

Leave a Reply

